Socrates

Socrates learned to dance when he was seventy because he felt that an essential part of himself had been neglected. ~Source Unknown

When I first decided to start up Salsa, I knew something in my soul was missing. I come from an artistic family; everybody had their outlet. I hadn’t played music in a long time and hadn’t found any inspiration to write either. But I didn’t want to be the artist struggling alone in the dark. I had enough of isolation with work, sitting in a cubicle on the phone all day troubleshooting people’s problems. As I would go out with “Drinking Buddy” I saw more isolation; sad lonely looking drunk old men. I saw the road I could very easily have headed down; isolated, depressed, alone – with all of the negative connotations that go along with it. Something essential had definitely had been neglected.

Growing up, music was always an important part in my house. I played music, my sister’s played music, dad always had music playing. And we were encouraged to listen to a wide variety of music. Good music was always good music, regardless of the style. I had started listening to artists like Cherry Poppin’ Daddies and Indigo Swing. The music was upbeat and joyous. I considered taking swing for a while.

Sometimes God works in mysterious ways, sometimes he whacks you upside the back of your head. I was doing a Google Search for dance lessons in L.A. and I found my current instructors had lessons on Monday nights between home and work so I figured that I’d give it a shot. As I had mention before, they were amazing. They turned a geeky, shy guy into a Salsero. The social interaction, artistry, the music and the masculinity got me hooked. That part of my soul hasn’t been neglected since.

Leave a Reply

